2018 Man Booker International Longlist

What s the Man Booker International?

Man Booker Int 2018The Man Booker Prize is the leading literary award in the English-speaking world, and has brought recognition, reward and readership to outstanding fiction for over four decades. Each year, the prize is awarded to what is, in the opinion of the judges, the best novel of the year written in English and published in the UK. It is a prize that transforms the winner’s career. The Man Booker Prize is sponsored by Man Group and the winner receives £50,000 as well as the £2,500 awarded to each of the six shortlisted authors. Both the winner and the shortlisted authors are guaranteed a worldwide readership plus a dramatic increase in book sales.

The Man Booker International Prize was established in 2005, biannually rewarding an author for a body of work originally written in any language as long as it was widely available in English. From 2016, the prize became a translation prize, awarded annually for a single work of fiction, translated into English and published in the UK. Underlining the importance of translation, the £50,000 prize is divided equally between the author and the translator.

 A number of one-off prizes have been created in the past, from the Lost Man Booker Prize to the Man Booker ‘Best of Beryl’, each aimed at spreading the word about the finest in fiction.

The 2018 Longlist

Title                                                     Author & Nationality                      Translator

 The 7th Function of Language      Laurent Binet (France)                   Sam Taylor

The Impostor                                    Javier Cercas (Spain)                       Frank Wynne

Vernon Subutex 1                            Virginie Despentes (France)           Frank Wynne

Go, Went, Gone                               Jenny Erpenbeck (Germany)           Susan Bernofsky 

The White Book                               Han Kang (South Korea)                 Deborah Smith

Die, My Love                                     Ariana Harwicz (Argentina)          Sarah Moses &                                                                                                                                         Carolina Orloff

The World Goes On                        László Krasznahorkai (Hungary)  J Batki, O Mulzet & G                                                                                                                               Szirtes 

Like a Fading Shadow                    Antonio Muñoz Molina (Spain)     Camilo A. Ramirez

The Flying Mountain                        Christoph Ransmayr (Austria)     Simon Pare

Frankenstein in Baghdad               Ahmed Saadawi (Iraq)                    Jonathan Wright 

Flights  Olga                                      Tokarczuk (Poland)                         Jennifer Croft

The Stolen Bicycle                           Wu Ming-Yi (Taiwan)                       Darryl Sterk

The Dinner Guest                            Gabriela Ybarra (Spain)                  Natasha Wimmer


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s